ED-Green Ribbon Schools Celebrates Third Cohort






Taylor, Rydberg, and Wheeler accept ED-GRS Director’s Awards.

It was smiles and green flags all around as Education Secretary Arne Duncan honored the 2014 U.S. Department of Education Green Ribbon Schools (ED-GRS) and District Sustainability awardees in a Washington, D.C. ceremony. In its third year, ED-GRS recognized 48 schools and nine districts from across the country, including four honorees from California:

Lowell Elementary School in the Long Beach Unified School District
Mark Twain Elementary School in the Long Beach Unified School District
San Domenico School in San Anselmo, Marin County
Encinitas Union School District in Encinitas, San Diego County

New this year was recognition for the state education agency officials administering ED-GRS. The Director’s Award was given to Gilda Wheeler from Washington (2012), Victoria Rydberg from Wisconsin (2013), and Lesley Taylor from California (2014).

“I am honored to represent Superintendent Torlakson and the California Department of Education in my work with ED-Green Ribbon Schools,” said Taylor. “The schools and districts we work with inspire me on a daily basis with their passion for resource conservation, health, and environmental education.”

The California Department of Education (CDE) has participated in ED-GRS since its inception. The complementary state-level award, California Green Ribbon Schools (CA-GRS), launched in 2014. Applications for state and federal awards will be available on the CDE Web page in September. In the meantime, follow CA-GRS on Facebook and follow @CAGreenRibbon on Twitter for updates on California’s green schools.

Connect with Taylor and other green schools stakeholders at the Green California Schools Summit, November 5-6, 2014 in Pasadena.*

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.